Branding, Week 5

The last week of the branding project. On Monday I was advised to do a zine despite my worries that it would be unrealistic for my method of creating art, as I am very slow at drawing and painting. I was dubious but started illustrations for it anyway, reasoning that if I didn’t use these illustrations for my zine then I could use them for badges or shirts. I planned to do three or four extra illustrations, and use the illustrations already in my sketchbook to pad my zine out. Today we also got taken out of lessons for a tutorial on the e-tracker. I set a goal to work on time management, though I find that my issues is not that I am bad at time management, but just that I am generally slow at making art, which is frustrating to experience as an artist.

Over Tuesday I sketched out my other illustrations and continued working on the illustration I was working on on Monday. I set a goal to get the illustration finished by the end of the day, which was a hard task since it was a very detailed piece, but I managed it.

Wednesday involved painting another of my illustrations. I chose to work in Gouache, which are quickly becoming my favourite traditional medium. I also worked on developing my business cards and stationary further, following some advice I got from my tutor, and altered them to display my illustrations better. I got rid of the text on some and made the illustrations less repetitive and instead designed it so the illustrations took up more space. I also placed a bird illustration on the back of my business card. I chose this as my final stationary set.

On Thusday I was rushed to finish my illustrations and to start putting my zine together. I finshed my illustrations but had to finish off everything on Friday unfortunately.

During Friday I selected the work I was going to use in my portfolio and put together my zine in InDesign. I spent hours trying to get the composition right but simply could not make it work. If I had another week to complete this project I could have produced something I liked perhaps, enough time to experiment and research further with text and textures and backgrounds but I had ran out of time. I am not happy with my zine at all.

Over the weekend I finished off some annotation to be ready for hand in on Monday

Leave a comment